The HCPLAN’s Executive Forum convenes health care leaders committed to shaping the strategic direction for value-based payment in the U.S.

Charged with advancing and accelerating APM adoption, the Executive Forum provides guidance on opportunities for strengthening incentives and capacity to accelerate the transition to two-sided risk models across markets. It is designed to influence and shape care delivery transformation necessary for the success of value-based health care and payment. Comprised of clinical and executive health care leaders, the Executive Forum’s primary focus is identifying the tools and strategies that prepare clinicians for success in delivering high-quality care that improves patient outcomes and reduces costs across a multi-payer environment.

Executive Forum Goals and Focus Areas

Addressing Social
of Health

Reducing Ineffective Care & Inappropriate Utilization of Services

Increasing Data Transparency & Interoperability

Ensuring Timely
Data & Analytics

Market Shifts
to Value


Executive Forum Chairs


Dr. Alice Chen
Chief Health Officer

Centene Corporation



Dr. Mark McClellan
Duke-Margolis Institute for Health Policy


Judy Zerzan-Thul - screenshot - square@2x

Dr. Judy Zerzan-Thul
Chief Medical Officer
Washington State


Meet the Forum Members

Dr. Jessica Bartell
Executive Vice President & Chief Medical Officer
Population Health & Value-Based Care

Dr. William Borden
Chief Quality and Population Health Officer
George Washington University Medical Faculty Associates

Emily Brower
Senior Vice President
Clinical Integration & Physician Services
Trinity Health

Dr. Helen Burstin
Executive Vice President
& Chief Executive Officer

Council of Medical, Specialty Societies

Dr. Sree Chaguturu
Executive Vice President
& Chief Medical Officer
CVS Health

Patrick Charmel
President & Chief Executive Officer
Griffin Health, Plantree

Dr. Marshall Chin
Richard Parrillo Family
Professor of Healthcare Ethics
in the Dept. of Medicine

UChicago Medicine

Aneesh Chopra


Adela Flores-Brennan

Colorado Medicaid

Dr. Liz Fowler
Deputy Administrator & Director
Center for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Dr. Mark Friedberg
Senior Vice President
Performance Measurement and Improvement
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

Dr. Kate Goodrich
Chief Medical Officer

Stephen Green
Chief Administrative Officer

Tim Gronniger
Chief Value-Based Solutions Officer
Caravan Health/Signify

Libby Hoy
President & Chief Executive Officer

Dr. Dora Hughes
Acting Director and Acting Chief Medical Officer
Center for Clinical Standards and Quality,
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Frederick Isasi
Executive Director
Families USA

Dr. Ali Khan
Chief Medical Officer
Oak Street Health

Ann Laseter
Vice President
Clinical Alignment
HCA Healthcare

Phillip Lee
Vice President
Strategic Provider Partnerships
Florida Blue

Alan Levine
Chairman/President/Chief Executive Officer
Ballad Health

Mike Levine
Assistant Secretary

Dan Liljenquist
Chief Strategy Officer
Intermountain Health

Dr. Dana Lustbader
Regional Medical Officer
Landmark Health

Dr. Renee McLaughlin
National Medical Executive


Dr. Jose Peña
Chief Executive Officer & Chief Medical Director

Rio Grande Valley ACO

Deepak Sadagopan
Chief Operating Officer
Population Health at Providence

Karen Schulte
President of Medicare Division
SCAN Health Plan

Dr. Meena Seshamani
Deputy Administrator & Director
Center for Medicare
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Dr. Angelo Sinopoli
Physician-focused Payment Model
Technical Advisory Council

Daniel Tsai
Deputy Administrator & Director
Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Dr. Marc Watkins
Chief Medical Officer
Kroger Health

Dr. Jon Welch
Population Health Initiatives Lead

Bryony Winn
Health Solutions
Elevance Health

Dr. Victor Wu
Chief Medical Officer