The HCPLAN established the Health Equity Advisory Team (HEAT) to help identify and prioritize opportunities to advance health equity through alternative payment models (APMs). The HEAT’s goal is person centered and focuses on leveraging APMs to help make needed care more accessible, drive better patient outcomes, and reduce disparities. The team is comprised of a diverse group of regional and national health equity implementers and subject matter experts committed to mitigating health inequities in the nation’s health care system and applying APM design principles to intentionally address factors that drive health inequities. The HEAT explores crucial topics such as patient experiences, priorities, and perceptions to help inform the HCPLAN’s yearly priorities and initiatives.

Join us on our journey and sign up for the HCPLAN newsletter to receive updates and opportunities to engage with the HEAT.

A note from the HEAT’s co-chairs, Karen Dale and Dr. Marshall Chin


Dr. Marshall Chin*
Richard Parrillo Family
Professor of Healthcare Ethics

University of Chicago


Karen M. Dale's Headshot-square. small

Karen Dale
Market President
AmeriHealth Caritas
District of Columbia


Morenike Ayo-Vaughn
Program Officer

Advancing Health Equity
The Commonwealth Fund

Michael Currie
Senior Vice President & Chief Health Equity Officer

UnitedHealth Group

Kate Davidson
Director, Learning and Diffusion Group

Center for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Chris DeMars
Director, Transformation Center

Deputy Director, Delivery Systems Innovation Office
Oregon Health Authority

Dr. Damon Francis
Medical Director

Homeless Health Center at Alameda Health System

Dr. Mark Friedberg
Senior Vice President
Performance Measurement and Improvement
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

Dr.  Romana Hasnain-Wynia
Chief Research Officer

Denver Health

Bukata Hayes
Vice President of Racial and Health Equity

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Minnesota

Sinsi Hernández-Cancio
Vice President for Health Justice

National Partnership for Women & Families

Dr. Dora Hughes
Acting Chief Medical Officer & Acting Director
Center for Clinical Standards and Quality

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Dr. Craig Jones

Capitol Health Associates

Jennifer Kons
Health Director, Community Investment

United Way of Greater Cleveland

Dr. Jody Levison-Johnson
President and CEO

Social Current

Dr. Lenny Lopez
Professor of Medicine

University of California San Francisco
Chief of Hospital Medicine
San Francisco VA Medical Center

Jean Moody-Williams
Deputy Director

Center for Clinical Standards & Quality
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Dr. Jennifer Moore
Founding Executive Director

Institute for Medicaid Innovation

Dr. David Nerenz

Emeritus of Center for Health Policy & Health Services Research
Henry Ford Health System

Dr. Jose Peña*
Chief Executive Officer & Chief Medical Director

Rio Grande Valley ACO

Jerry Peterson
Executive Director

Ruth Ellis Center

Dr. Jorge Petit
Dr. J Petit Psychiatry Services

Taylor Priestly
Deputy Director

Health Equity & Quality Transformation
Covered California

Dr. Pamela Riley
Medical Director

Department of Health Care Finance
Washington DC Medicaid

Dr. Purva Rawal
Chief Strategy Officer
Center for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Cary Sanders
Senior Policy Director

California Pan-Ethnic Health Network

Christina Severin
President & Chief Executive Officer

Community Care Cooperative

Aswita Tan-McGrory

The Disparities Solutions Center
Administrative Director
The Mondan Institute

Dr. Ellen-Marie Whelan
Chief Population Health Officer

Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Laurie Zephyrin
Senior Vice President for Advancing Health Equity

The Commonwealth Fund