Guiding Committee

The Guiding Committee is the primary leadership body of the LAN. The Guiding Committee meets monthly and carries out its responsibilities by collaborating with the CMS Alliance to Modernize Healthcare (CAMH) on strategy, establishing and overseeing work groups, and actively engaging stakeholders across the LAN to encourage commitments, share and disseminate results, and accelerate learning. Guiding Committee members serve as ambassadors and liaisons to the communities in which they participate.

Guiding Committee Chairs


Mark McClellan, MD, PhD
Robert J Margolis Center for Health Policy
Margolis Professor of Business, Medicine and Health Policy at Duke University


Mark Smith, MD, MBA
Visiting Professor,
University of California at Berkeley and Clinical Professor of Medicine,
University of California at San Francisco

Guiding Committee Members

Tom Betlach, MPA
Director, Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System 
Roy Beveridge, MD
SVP and CMO, Humana
Reid Blackwelder, MD, FAAFP
Past President, American Academy of Family Physicians
Adam Boehler
Senior Advisor to the Secretary, Deputy Administrator, Director of the CMS Innovation Center
Craig Brammer
Chief Executive Officer, The Health Collaborative
Thomas Buckingham, BSN, MBA
EVP, Select Medical
Alex Clyde
Vice President, Global Health Policy, Reimbursement, and Health Economics, Medtronic Inc.
Kenneth Cohen, MD
Chief Medical Officer, New West Physicians
Patrick Courneya, MD
EVP and CMO, Kaiser Foundation Hospitals and Health Plan, Inc.
Charles Fazio, MD, MS
SVP and Medical Director, HealthPartners, Inc.
Andrea Gelzer, MD
SVP and Corporate Chief Medical Officer, Amerihealth Caritas
Bill Hazel, MD
Former Secretary of Health and Human Resources, Commonwealth of Virginia
David Lansky, PhD
CEO, Pacific Business Group on Health
Renee McLaughlin, MD FACS
National Medical Director, Value-Based Relationships, Cigna
Debra Ness, MS
President, National Partnership for Women & Families
Joshua J. Ofman, MD, MSHS
SVP, Global Value, Access and Policy, Amgen Inc.
Frank Opelka, MD, FACS
EVP, Louisiana State University System; Medical Director, Quality and Health Policy, American College of Surgeons
Kyu Rhee, MD, MPP
VP and CHO, IBM Watson Health
Craig Samitt, MD
President and CEO, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota
Lewis Sandy, MD, MBA
SVP, Clinical Advancement, UnitedHealth Group
Susan Sherry
Deputy Director, Community Catalyst
Angelo Sinopoli, MD
Chief Clinical Officer, Prisma Health; President, Chief Executive Officer and Founder, Care Coordination Institute
Sara Van Geertruyden, JD
Executive Director, Partnership to Improve Patient Care
Judy Zerzan, MD, MPH
CMO, Washington State Health Care Authority
Alan Balch
Chief Executive Officer, Patient Advocate Foundation
Patrick Conway
Chief Medical Officer, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
William Golden
Medical Director, Arkansas Medicaid
Wright L. Lassiter, III
President, Henry Ford Health System, Inc.
Nancy Leamond
Executive Vice President of Social Impact, AARP
Elizabeth Mitchell
President and Chief Executive Officer, Pacific Business Group on Health
Sam Nussbaum
Senior Fellow, USC Schaeffer Center for Health Policy and Economics
Stephen Ondra
Chief Executive Officer, North Star Healthcare Consulting
Dorothy Teeter
Director, Washington State Health Care Authority
Sally Welborn
Senior Vice President, Global Benefits, Walmart